When You’re Facing Tough Times…
Real Help That Makes A Difference

Can you lose the right to own a gun because of DUI?

The state of Washington takes DUI very seriously. If law enforcement stops you for DUI you should understand the consequences of a conviction.

A person charged with DUI could face either felony or misdemeanor charges, depending on the circumstances. A conviction of felony DUI may result in the loss of your right to purchase and carry a firearm.

What is a felony DUI in Washington?

Any DUI conviction can result in significant penalties, such as jail time, fines, and license suspensions. Most DUI convictions are gross misdemeanors; however, the court can charge a felony DUI when:

  • You have four or more DUI-related offenses on your record within the last 10 years
  • You have a previous conviction for vehicular assault or vehicular homicide while under the influence
  • You have a previous felony DUI conviction on your record

How does a felony DUI conviction impact your firearm rights?

In Washington, a conviction for a felony crime, including felony DUI, results in the state revoking your firearm rights. A felony DUI conviction prohibits you from:

  • Owning a firearm
  • Having a firearm in your possession or under your control
  • Obtaining or holding a concealed carry permit

If you violate these restrictions, the court can charge you with a class B felony. The penalties are harsh, with up to 10 years in prison and fines up to $20,000.

Can you defend yourself against DUI charges?

You absolutely should defend yourself against a DUI charge. A DUI conviction could negatively impact your future for a long time. You owe it to yourself to provide the best defense you can.